Jewelled nails

An oddbits post tonight, as I haven’t particularly been feeling the outfit inspiration this week. That said, I have had several lovely things turn up in the post this week, some expected, some not – more about that soon no doubt.

However, one of the things on my crafting to-do list for some time has been a jewellery roll. Whenever I travel I always take many rings, necklaces and earrings and they always end up in such a mess. I once spent an hour on my return from holiday untangling a ball of jewellery – longer than it took to unpack everything else!

Ages ago I bought a fat quarter of pale turquoise paisley print fabric, which I used to make a phone sleeve but still had loads left. Then I picked up a remnant of blue & white floral print fabric in the charity shop, and the idea was born for a contrasting fabric jewellery roll.

To make this I used:

  • Two coordinating but contrasting fabrics
  • A piece of medium thickness felt
  • A ribbon (reused from my Glossyboxes)
  • Blue bias binding
  • White and pink cotton
  • Press studs

Firstly I cut out the felt and fabrics to size, then a small rectangle & two thin strips of the outer fabric (the turquoise), and a rectangle of felt. These I used to make the earring flap, and the ring and necklace keeper (by rolling up the strips and then sewing down one edge). The two keepers were stitched to the inner and felt layers at one end, and the press-stud attached at the other end. The earring flap was also stitched in along the top side. Then I added the outer face, stitched all round the edge, trimmed and sewed the outer edge of the bias binding. The final edge stitch to finish the binding I hand stitched in pink thread to match the pink tie-ribbon. This was doubled up and stitched in place in the centre of the outer end when the roll is folded up. Ta -dah!

inner jewellery roll

 

 

 

 

 

The other bit of this post relates to nails – I had another splurge on my favourite nailcare brand. When I last when on holiday to Barcelona I discovered two European stores that I wish we had over here – SIX Jewellery and KIKO Cosmetics. KIKO do absolutely amazing nail colours, I have never seen so much choice, and some great nailcare products like a cuticle exfoliating pen and nail polish thinners that I’ve never come across elsewhere for such great value.

You can order online – there’s a minimum £25 order, but delivery is free. It’s just more of an excuse to stock up on great stuff! Here’s my loot:

279 Yellow; 310 Golden Orange; 209 French Baby Pink; 389 Mint Milk; 325 Gray Green; 323 Milk Chocolate; Nail Cuticle Scrub Pen; French Manicure White Nail Pencil
279 Yellow; 310 Golden Orange; 209 French Baby Pink; 389 Mint Milk; 325 Gray Green; 323 Milk Chocolate; Nail Cuticle Scrub Pen; French Manicure White Nail Pencil
Leave a Reply

