Stepping back to the 1940s

Now I’m not normally one for costumes, I never really did fancy dress properly at uni and always preferred to concoct an outfit that actually looked genuine, something you would plausibly wear out to a non-theme event.

On the day we got back from Italy last week we also had a party to go to – ’40s in 404′ at the Classic Air Force Trust at Newquay Airport. The event was held in their hangar containing vintage aircraft in various stages of restoration, and there was a swing band and dance group that came to really rack up the atmosphere. Everyone made a great effort with outfits and there were one or two genuine uniforms out of mothballs I think!

So this was my outfit, which I was really chuffed with – the centrepiece being the wartime green ‘Amelie dress’ which was in the sale from Collectif. I paired this with a vintage gold bag I had already, and my cream/gold Ruby Shoo O’haras. The neckline of the dress negates a necklace, so it was just a cream/gold pair of vintage style earrings and my green/gold ring.

1940s Green & Gold Vintage style
We also went and got our hair done and upped the makeup – for a start I wore lipstick which I never do! There were a few aircraft outside the hangar so we braved the cold (still acclimatising backwards from 35C) and snapped some photos too.
Leave a Reply

