Scarf Season

Has it really been over a month since I last posted? Where does the time go… well part of it was spent in Croatia at least, on a surprisingly amazing holiday.

The Gatsby dress from my last post has not made an enormous amount of progress, it has to be said… but although I was feeling uninspired by my wardrobe a month ago, we’re now well and truly into a new season and with that the favourite boots, tights, winter combinations and SCARVES are back in.

I love my scarves (I think I’ve said this before) and have made a vow to wear my scarves more – minimum 1 a week, as this is the only way I can justify buying more. Normally I keep them piled in a faux-vintage suitcase, but I think this means I just never quite know how many I have….

Scarves on paradeTop row, L-R:

Grey cotton snood | Black & floral cotton scarf | Purple floral cotton scarf | Green cotton pashmina (from Florence) | Turquoise crochet scarf | Grey/blue butterfly snood | Grey, green, red umbrella print scarf | Green/multi ruched scarf.

Middle row, L-R:

Large silk face-print, Desigual | Grey silk geometric, vintage | Blue/Green windowpane pattern, “Hermes” | White/multi Japanese print, vintage | White/pink/brown floral, vintage | Purple/Pink leaf print, vintage | White / Hot pink polka dot, vintage | Grey/black patterned | Turquoise Venice silk, vintage.

Bottom row, L-R:

Purple hearts & roses, vintage | Purple/multi cotton beaded, Desigual | Turquoise/beige geometric (from Croatia) | Green silk, vintage | Yellow/grey polka dots, vintage.

 

22 scarves…that’s not too bad, right? I’m sure I can fit a few more in – and as you can tell, most are picked up from vintage and charity shops and markets!

Today I wore my large Desigual silk scarf, which can be tricky to wear because it’s so big and also slippy. A good time to download the new Hermes app, a beautifully designed (of course!) guide to some classic scarf knots. I’ve fallen in love with most of the scarves being modelled, and would love to try out one or two of the ‘scarf as garment’ styles sometime, but there was one that just seemed ideal for today, ‘Criss-Cross’….

Desigual double knot

Leave a Reply

