80s blouse reworked

On a recent trip to Leamington and Blighty Bazaar I bought two vintage tops from the sale rail for just £4 each. I’m still working on one of them, it’s a bit smaller than I thought and I’m still experimenting with ways to adapt it. The other was easier though, a white 80s blouse with pleat neck detail and double-button front.

This was oversized, so the first thing I did was put in double-point waist darts to draw in the shape.

wpid-20150302_080141.jpg

The second thing was that the neckline was VERY open and not really decent with work…so I’ve stitched that together, in the process giving the pleats a bit more stability.

Finally, I folded the edge of the neckline over and put in a few catch stitches. Originally I think it was meant to be worn with the collar upright and loose at the front, but I wanted more structure than that.

wpid-20150302_080124.jpg

Styled up for work with my favourite houndstooth skirt and a pair of pointy mint court shoes! 80s updated.

wpid-20150302_080054.jpg

Leave a Reply

